Our Board of Directors and Schedule of Board Meetings

Community Teamwork is governed by a twenty-four member Board of Directors.

Volunteer Board Committed to Accountability and Service

Pictured back row: Dennis Piendak, President; Bernadette Wheeler, Clerk; Bob Correnti; Marty Conway; Mickey Cockrell; Glenn Goldman; Marty Hogan; Dr. Leland Ackerson

Pictured front row: Lindsey Vincent; Marie Sweeney; Lynn Roderick, Assistant Treasurer; Germaine Vigeant-Trudel, Treasurer; Sheila Och, Vice President; Kate Cohen 

Not pictured: James Hogan; Sidney Liang; Merilyn Dike Mbombo; Linda Neary; Rita O’Brien-Dee; Hannah Phan; Richard Reault, Jose Rodriguez; Stephen Strykowski; Aleksandra Tugbiyele; Carleen Gavin, Director Emeritus and Catherine Maynard, Director Emeritus

Community Teamwork is fortunate to be governed by 24 dedicated community members. The Community Teamwork Board of Directors is responsible for the governance of the entire agency.  This role involves protection of the public interest, being a fiduciary, selecting the executive director and assessing his/ her performance, ensuring compliance with legal and tax requirements, and evaluating the organization’s work.

Low-Income Sector Has a Strong Voice

Community Teamwork’s Board of Directors reflects the shared mission of all of the approximately 1,000 Community Action Agencies across the country – board_chartto ensure that there is a clear connection between people with limited income and the power structure of our community.  This is accomplished through a tri-partite membership structure: at least one-third of the Board’s members represent the low-income community, another third local government and public officials, and another third the private sector such as business, labor, religious and cultural groups, educational entities and social service agencies.  Our board meets at our agency headquarters at 6:30pm on the 4th Wednesday of each month, except during July, August, and December.

Our Board Members as of December 17, 2020


Dennis E. Piendak, President
Sheila Och, Vice President
Germaine Vigeant-Trudel, Treasurer
Lynn Roderick, Assistant Treasurer
Bernadette Wheeler, Clerk

Catherine M. Maynard  – Director Emeritus

Carleen Gavin – Director Emeritus

Representing                                                                                Name                           

City of Lowell

Cambodian Mutual Assistance Assn.                             Hannah Phan

Centralville Neighborhood Action Group                     Marty Hogan

Lowell Community Health Center                                  Sheila Och, VICE-PRESIDENT                                                  

Lowell Housing Authority                                                Jose Rodriguez

MV Housing Partnership                                                 Germaine Vigeant-Trudel, TREASURER        


Billerica Public Housing                                                   Stephen Strykowski

Dracut – Catie’s Closet                                                       Mickey Cockrell

Tewksbury Council on Aging                                           Rita O’Brien-Dee                 

Westford Council on Aging                                              Lynn Roderick, ASST. TREASURER

CTI Programs

Head Start Policy Council                                                Lyndsey Vincent**

Non-CTI Low-Income Programs

Northeast Legal Aid                                                          Linda Neary

Public Representatives         8

City of Lowell

Lowell City Council (by Mayor John Leahy)               Merilyn Dike Mbombo*

Lowell City Council (by Councilor J. Drinkwater)     Aleksandra Tugbiyele*

Lowell City Council (by Councilor Vesna Nuon)        Sidney Liang*


Billerica (by BHA Commissioner J. O’Donnell)           Bob Correnti*

Chelmsford-Westford (by State Rep Jim Arciero)       Kate Cohen*

Dracut (by Selectperson Alison Hughes)                       Dennis Piendak*, PRESIDENT

Tewksbury (by Selectman Mark Kratman)                    Marie Sweeney*                  

Tyngsboro Selectman                                                         Richard Reault*

Community Representatives   5

Former Head Start Parent                                                 Bernadette Wheeler, CLERK

GL Central Labor Council                                                  Marty Conway

Lowell Five Cents Savings Bank                                      Glenn Goldman, PAST PRESIDENT

University of Mass Lowell                                                 Dr. Leland Ackerson, UML

Washington Savings Bank                                                James Hogan

* Elected officials or designees may serve a 3 year term, but term may end if elected official is no longer in office.

** HS Policy Council member elected by PC annually in November.


Our Board Meeting Schedule 2021

With the exception of the Board Retreat/Board Meeting in January and the Annual Meeting in October –

both held off-site, all regularly scheduled Board Meetings are held at

155 Merrimack Street, Marjorie McDermott Board Room, 2nd Floor, Lowell MA  01852

Board Meetings are called to order promptly at 6:30pm. Public is welcome.

Meetings of the Finance and Executive Committees begin at 4:30pm


Full Board   (PUBLIC WELCOME)               Finance & Executive Committees

Wednesday, January 27 Tuesday, January 19
Wednesday, February 24 Tuesday, February 16
Wednesday, March 24 Tuesday, March 16
Wednesday, April 28 Tuesday, April 20
Wednesday, May 26 Tuesday, May 18
Wednesday, June 30 Tuesday, June 22
Wednesday, September 29 Tuesday, September 21
Wednesday, October 27 (Annual Meeting) Tuesday, October 19
Wednesday, December 1 Tuesday, November 23
Tuesday, December 21